Effie's Food Corner

Step into my kitchen!

Oven roasted potatoes March 23, 2011

Who can resist the wonderful aroma of garlicy lemony potatoes roasting in the oven? I know I can’t!  Make these delicious potatoes for your dinner guests and I guarantee that these beauties will be gone before they hit the table! You might want to make extra… 😉

 
(4 servings)

 

Ingredients:
20 small potatoes (peeled and halved) or 10 medium potatoes (peeled and quartered)
3 cloves of garlic (crushed with the blade of a knife, no need to peel them)
3-4 tbsp fresh lemon juice
2-3 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp dried oregano
2 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
3 tbsp water

1. Preheat oven to 200 C (390 F).
2. Pour half of the olive oil  and 3 tbsp water into a roasting pan or baking dish.
3. Put the garlic cloves into the pan (don’t put them all in the same spot, spread them around the pan).
4. Add the potatoes to the pan and drizzle with fresh lemon juice and the remaining olive oil.
5. Sprinkle with oregano, salt and pepper.
6. Roast in the oven for 40-45 minutes or until crispy and golden on top.
7. Serve as a side with your favorite meat dish along with a fresh salad.

 

(Tip: These potatoes go really well with grilled meat.)

(Tip 2: Don’t throw the garlic cloves away…When garlic is roasted it becomes mild and sweet. Really yummy on bread!)

 

4 Responses to “Oven roasted potatoes”

  1. Babygirl Says:

    I love these potatoes.. What a great, simplistic, yet filling side dish. I am definitely a potato girl. Oh and since you’re on detox.. don’t get upset with me about my post today when you read it hehe 🙂

    Like

    • lillagreca Says:

      I love potatoes too and I make these often! Thank you for your chocoholic’s dream post..I’m still on detox so I’ll have to wait a while before I eat anything with chocolate in it… 😉 Hope you’re having a wonderful day!

      Like

  2. SarahWW Says:

    Hi, Effie~ I love potatoes and they look great!~ sometimes I just microwave salad potato with some tomato sauce and it tastes nice as well~!haha~ a bit lazy though…
    As I promised you that in this week, I will post a recipe on classic French dessert-chocolate fondate, and I finally updated it!~
    Just let you know that I have move my blog “Dessert.S” to here:http://sarahwwdesserts.blogspot.com/
    Looking forward to having you comments on my chocolate fondate!~hehe~

    @SarahWW
    Blog:http://sarahwwdesserts.blogspot.com/
    Facebook:http://www.facebook.com/pages/DessertS/168101766575568

    Like

    • lillagreca Says:

      It’s ok to be lazy sometimes…I don’t always make elaborate dinners..I too take the easy way out and make something quick in the microwave oven or just pop some chicken nuggets and french fries in the oven… 🙂

      Mmmm….chocolate fondant…I have to check it out! 😀 Hope you’re having a wonderful day!

      Like


Leave a Reply

