Effie's Food Corner

Step into my kitchen!

Thai-style chicken and shrimp soup April 4, 2011

I love soup because it’s versatile and can be served as a starter, a main course, or even as a dessert..  This particular soup is so hearty and creamy so it’s more of a main course rather than a starter.  It has the perfect balance of spicy, tangy, and salty and the coconut milk and sugar add a little sweetness. You will definitely want more than one bowl!



(6 servings)

Ingredients:

4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts (cut into bite size pieces)
200-250 g  (7-8 oz) fresh or frozen small shrimp (peeled and deveined)
1 large red bell pepper (diced)
1 large yellow onion (finely chopped)
1-2 tbsp peanut oil
2 tbsp curry powder
0.5 tsp black pepper
900 g  (32 oz) strained tomatoes
400 g  (14 oz) coconut milk
3 tbsp concentrated chicken stock
1.25 dl  (½ c) water
0.5 tsp sugar
0.5 tsp salt


Garnish:

1 tbsp fresh or frozen parsley (finely chopped)
1 tbsp fresh or frozen coriander leaves (finely chopped)
1 tsp ginger root (grated or very finely chopped)


1. Heat oil over medium-high heat in a large pot.
2. Add curry powder and chicken and cook until the meat is cooked all the way through.
3. Put the onion and bell pepper in the pot and cook until tender.
4. Season with black pepper and add the shrimp, chicken stock, strained tomatoes, coconut milk, and water.
5. Cover and cook over medium heat for about 10 minutes.
6. Add sugar and salt and stir well.
7. Garnish with parsley, coriander, ginger root.




(Tip:  If you want an even spicier soup, add 1 or 2 finely chopped red chili peppers along with the onion and bell pepper.)


(Tip 2:  The shrimp can be omitted in case you’re allergic to shellfish or just don’t like seafood..)

 

8 Responses to “Thai-style chicken and shrimp soup”

  1. chefshellina Says:

    Beautiful- as always. (And hey, you added me to your blogroll! Thanks, sister!)

    Like

    • lillagreca Says:

      Thank you for stopping by! I haven’t posted anything in 2 weeks…been really busy and the time just flew by…

      You’re welcome! I enjoy your blog so I wanted to share it with others! 🙂

      Like

  2. Babygirl Says:

    I’ve never heard of Thai Style Chicken and shrimp soup but do you know how interested I am right now to try this out? VERY lol. The picture of this dish look delicious. Okay time to take down this recipe. Wonderful as always girl.

    Like

    • lillagreca Says:

      Well, I love Thai food and tomato soup and I think it’s fun to experiment and play with flavor combos…I call it Thai-style because it has coconut milk and curry in it which is a popular combo in Thai dishes and I crossed it with tomato soup..Chicken and shrimp go well together with tomatoes, coconut milk and curry…So this is my little creation and it is incredibly delicious! 🙂 Thank you so much for all your wonderful comments, I truly appreciate them!

      Like

  3. sanyaliving Says:

    I just realised that I hardly ever cook soup!
    Looks great! You’ve inspired me!

    Like

  4. Lee ;-)= Says:

    Made this last night for a few friends, clean plates and positive comments all round, it’s probably one of the only times i’ve heard them silent! Just the odd mmm noise! Well done Eff a definite winner this one, it’s increased my popularity immensely!!!

    Like

    • lillagreca Says:

      Thank you sooo much for your kind and uplifting comment! It totally made my day! There is nothing more satisfying to me than when someone compliments me on my cooking or tells me that they’ve tried one of my recipes and it turned out great! ; )=

      Like


Leave a Reply

